Medical Update

In the past, I have posted about my diabetes diagnosis and the changes that I had to make in order to get control over this disease. I have been working really hard in changing my eating habits.  My family and I have started to eat out less, and make dinner at home more often.  When I do eat out, I try to eat more healthier.  For example, I may have a cheeseburger, but instead of fries, I get a side salad and I also get a wheat bun.  One other change that I made is that I no longer eat Iceberg lettuce.  I don’t eat it because it is mostly water and has no vitamin content when it looks white and not dark green.  I have replaced iceberg lettuce with Spinach which has more vitamins that my body needs.  I also have been following the diabetic plate plan.  You can read about it in detail here.  All of these changes have helped me to become a more healthier person.

At my last doctor appointment with my endocrinologist, she told me that my A1C number (this tells me how under control I have my diabetes) went from 6.5 at the last appointment down to 6.1 and this current appointment.  My doctor has my goal as under 6 so I am almost there!  I have also brought my cholesterol down to normal levels.  This has surprised my doctor because I did it with just changing what I ate even after being taking off of cholesterol medication because of my husband and I are trying to conceive.  My blood sugar levels have all come under the goals that my doctor has given me as well, except for one.  My goals are to have a fasting level at 90 or under, and one hour after eating meals at 130 to 90.  So far, all of my numbers one hour after eating have been within the goal limits.  The one that is giving me trouble is the fasting number.  It is usually just a bit off, but still, I hasn’t dropped under the goal that my doctor has for me.  So I still have a few adjustments to make, but I am hopeful that we will get pregnant soon.

Thank you for reading and following along.  I hope you all have a wonderful day!

ScallopSiggy-001

Leave a Reply

